Home

DE

Moses
Home without a home

Despite his training as a geriatric nurse and his own income, Moses still lives in a shelter for refugees. He lives 30 kilometers away from his place of work and shares his bedroom with two other men - but not everyone knows about his homosexuality. His own apartment would make it easier for him to feel he has arrived, but high levels of tourism in the holiday resort of Dießen am Ammersee, among other things, makes his search more difficult.

Peißenberg: A peaceful village with 23 restaurants, three medical practices and a small railway station. The area around the station is deserted. In the middle of the empty village stands Moses. With his bright red winter jacket, he immediately stands out. The only thing that is open on a Saturday afternoon near the station is the restaurant of a guesthouse. Shyly Moses enters the rustic Gasthaus Sonne and is the only guest who attracts attention. The rustic wood paneling on the walls and the waitress in the dirndl fit perfectly into the image of a small Bavarian province. If you come from a busy city, it is a bit oppressive to be the only guest in a restaurant. That's how it is for Moses. The 40-year-old comes from Kampala, a city of 1.5 million inhabitants in Uganda. The pulsating capital is the blatant opposite of the 13,000-inhabitant town. Moses has left his homeland, his family and his friends to live and love freely. Sitting in front of his plate of Bavarian roasted liver it seems as if he has arrived, but at the same time he is still searching. Because to really arrive, he needs a home of his own.

After more than three years he still lives in a refugee shelter. He is one of about 100 refugees who live in various flat-sharing constellations here in Peißenberg, "six, eight, or ten people living together", according to Moses. After his first asylum application was rejected, Moses was lucky that with the help of a volunteer from the Rainbow Refugees Munich organization, a residence permit and therefore a work permit were obtained in a second appeal.

The former teacher of mathematics and English also works with people here in Germany. Immediately after his arrival Moses did an internship in a retirement home in Dießen am Ammersee. His employers were so satisfied with him that they made it possible for him to train as a geriatric nurse. "The work is very fun, and I even get a Christmas bonus," he says enthusiastically. In his free time, he also works as a volunteer coach for the ice hockey team in Peißenberg. But all this hasn't changed his housing situation: Despite his own income, he shares a small bedroom with two other men. And there's a reason for that.

The idyllic holiday resort Dießen has more than 100 free rooms, which are rented by private persons to holidaymakers. But Moses is not a holidaymaker, he is a worker. For half a year now, he has been looking for an affordable apartment near his workplace. The problem: "It's expensive and there are no apartments," says Moses. In Munich you sometimes have the opportunity to move into a shared flat. "But in Dießen there are no shared flats, the people there are very private", Moses adds.

It seems paradoxical: because Moses wanted to work as quickly as possible, he is now tied to a holiday resort where tourists are easily accommodated, but desperately need caretaker like him are not.

Therefore, he has to commute 30 kilometers to work every day and continues to live in a shelter for refugees. Not all of his roommates know why he had to flee Uganda. The reason for this was homophobic attacks, which Moses experienced in his homeland. One day a group of aggressive men ambushed him. They broke into his house, attacked him and his friend and inflicted serious injuries. They told them: "We will hunt you. What you do is forbidden." This vigilante justice finally drove him to flight.

Having arrived in Germany, he still cannot live a completely carefree life. Thomas Michel, co-founder of Rainbow Refugees Munich, is a volunteer for LGBT refugees and knows the problems they face in the shelters: If it becomes known that a refugee is gay, he is at least socially excluded, but often also physically threatened. "That the refugees keep their sexual orientation secret in their shelters is the rule - not the exception," he explains. So, people come to Germany to live in freedom, yet have to hide in their own four walls. Michel has seen a possible solution in several other federal states: designated protected shelters for LGBT refugees. But in Bavaria these protected accommodations are not a matter of course. Not everyone is aware of the danger a collective shelter poses to homosexual refugees. As homophobia is deeply rooted in individual cultures, the shelter can become the scene of hostilities for LGBT refugees. "When there are people in the shelter who don't want to hear that you're gay, some people start insulting you. Some people don't even share their food or other things with you," Moses reports. Some of the attacks go beyond insults, but until that happens, it is gambling with people's lives. Michel explains:

"If refugees are exposed to homophobia in their shelters and something happens to them, then of course they are moved to other shelters. But until something actually happens to them, they must stay there."

A place of his own would be the solution for Moses and would finally give him the feeling of a new home. Moses currently has a volunteer mentor at his side to help him find accommodation. The voluntary mentors' own initiatives are so far-reaching that they even rent apartments and, with the landlord's consent, sublet them to the refugees, "because as Germans we have a better chance to get an apartment," says Michel.

For Moses it is clear that he wants to arrive in Germany in the right way and pay his rent himself with money he has earned. He is confident and is already planning his future housing situation together with his partner: "If we have money, then we can rent a house together", Moses says, "or an apartment, in Uganda it's different - a house is cheaper than an apartment". he adds laughingly.

Text: Leonie Hudelmaier
Photos: Janina Laszlo

Rainbow Refugees (Stories)

Home

Moses M
Heimat ohne Zuhause

Trotz einer Ausbildung als Altenpfleger und eigenem Einkommen lebt Moses M. noch immer in einer Unterkunft für Geflüchtete. Er wohnt 30 Kilometer von seiner Arbeitsstelle entfernt und teilt sich sein Schlafzimmer mit zwei anderen Männern – dabei wissen nicht alle von seiner Homosexualität. Eine eigene Wohnung würde ihm das Ankommen erleichtern, jedoch erschwert unter anderem der Tourismus in dem Ferienort Dießen am Ammersee ihm die Suche.

Peißenberg: Eine beschauliche Ortschaft mit 23 Gastronomien, drei Arztpraxen und einem kleinen Bahnhof. Die Gegend um den Bahnhof ist verlassen. Inmitten der leeren Ortschaft steht Moses M. Mit seiner knallroten Winterjacke fällt er sofort auf. Das Einzige, was in Bahnhofsnähe an einem Samstagnachmittag offen hat, ist das Restaurant einer Pension. Schüchtern betritt Moses das urige Gasthaus Sonne und zieht als einziger Gast die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich. Die rustikale Holzverkleidung an den Wänden und die Bedienung im Dirndl passen perfekt in das Bild einer kleinen bayrischen Provinz. Kommt man aus einer belebten Großstadt, ist es etwas beklemmend der einzige Gast in einem Restaurant zu sein. So geht es auch Moses. Der 40-Jährige kommt aus Kampala, einer 1,5 Millionen-Einwohner-Stadt Ugandas. Die pulsierende Hauptstadt ist das krasse Gegenteil des 13.000-Einwohner-Orts. Moses hat seine Heimat, seine Familie und seine Freunde verlassen, um frei leben und lieben zu können. Vor seinem Teller bayrisch g‘rösteter Leber scheint es, als sei er angekommen, jedoch ist er zugleich noch immer auf der Suche. Denn um richtig anzukommen, braucht er ein eigenes Zuhause.

Nach über drei Jahren wohnt er noch immer in einer Flüchtlingsunterkunft. Er ist einer von etwa 100 Geflüchteten, die hier in Peißenberg in verschiedenen Wohngemeinschaften leben, in ihnen wohnen jeweils „sechs, acht, oder zehn Personen zusammen“, so Moses. Dass er überhaupt noch in Bayern sein darf, ist keine Selbstverständlichkeit: Nachdem sein erster Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde, hatte Moses das Glück, dass mit Hilfe eines ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeiters der Organisation Rainbow Refugees Munich eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung und damit eine Arbeitserlaubnis in einer zweiten Instanz erwirkt wurde.

Der ehemalige Lehrer für Mathematik und Englisch arbeitet auch hier in Deutschland mit Menschen. Unmittelbar nach seiner Ankunft machte Moses ein Praktikum in einem Seniorenheim in Dießen am Ammersee. Danach waren die Betreiber so zufrieden mit ihm, dass sie ihm eine Ausbildung als Altenpfleger ermöglichten. „Die Arbeit macht sehr Spaß und ich bekomme sogar Weihnachtsgeld“, erzählt er begeistert. In seiner freien Zeit engagiert er sich zusätzlich ehrenamtlich als Betreuer für das Eishockeyteam in Peißenberg. An seiner Wohnsituation hat all das jedoch nichts verändert: Trotz eigenem Einkommen teilt er sich mit zwei weiteren Männern ein kleines Schlafzimmer. Und dafür gibt es einen Grund.

Der idyllische Ferienort Dießen hat über 100 freie Zimmer, die von Privatpersonen an Urlauber vermietet werden. Doch Moses ist kein Urlauber, sondern Arbeitnehmer. Seit einem halben Jahr ist er nun auf der Suche nach einer bezahlbaren Wohnung in der Nähe seiner Arbeitsstelle. Das Problem: „Es ist teuer und es gibt keine Wohnungen“, sagt Moses. In München hat man mitunter die Möglichkeit in eine WG zu ziehen. „Aber in Dießen gibt es keine WGs, die Leute sind dort sehr distanziert“, fügt Moses hinzu.

Es scheint paradox: Weil Moses so schnell wie möglich arbeiten wollte, ist er nun an einen Urlaubsort gebunden, in dem Touristen unterkommen, aber händeringend gesuchte Pfleger wie er nicht.

Deswegen muss er jeden Tag 30 Kilometer zu seiner Arbeit pendeln und lebt weiterhin in einer Unterkunft für Geflüchtete. Dabei wissen nicht alle seine Mitbewohner, weshalb er aus Uganda fliehen musste. Der Grund dafür waren homophobe Attacken, die Moses in seiner Heimat erlebte. Dort lauerte ihm eines Tages eine Gruppe aggressiver Männer auf. Sie brachen in sein Haus ein, attackierten ihn und seinen Freund und fügten ihnen dabei ernsthafte Verletzungen zu. Sie sagten ihnen: „Wir jagen euch. Was ihr tut, ist verboten.“ Diese Selbstjustiz trieb ihn schließlich in die Flucht.

Angekommen in Deutschland kann er noch immer nicht vollkommen unbeschwert und frei leben. Thomas Michel, Mitgründer der Rainbow Refugees Munich, setzt sich ehrenamtlich für LGBT*-Geflüchtete ein und weiß, mit welchen Problemen die Geflüchteten in ihren Unterkünften konfrontiert werden: Wenn bekannt wird, dass ein Geflüchteter schwul ist, wird er mindestens sozial ausgeschlossen, jedoch oft auch körperlich bedroht. „Dass die Geflüchteten in ihren Unterkünften ihre sexuelle Orientierung geheim halten, das ist die Regel – nicht die Ausnahme“, erklärt er. Menschen kommen also nach Deutschland, um in Freiheit zu leben und müssen sich in ihren eigenen vier Wänden verstecken. Eine mögliche Lösung hat Michel in einigen anderen Bundesländern kennengelernt: eigene und geschützte Unterkünfte für LGBT*‑Geflüchtete. Doch in Bayern sind diese geschützten Unterkünfte keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Welche Gefahr für homosexuelle Geflüchtete von so einer Sammelunterkunft ausgeht, ist nicht jedem bewusst. Da Homophobie in einzelnen Kulturen tief verankert ist, wird die Unterkunft für LGBT*-Geflüchtete zum Schauplatz von Feindseligkeiten. „Wenn in der Unterkunft Leute sind, die es nicht hören möchten, dass du schwul bist, fangen manche an dich zu beleidigen. Manche teilen nicht mal ihr Essen oder andere Sachen mit einem“, berichtet Moses. Teilweise gehen die Angriffe auch über Beleidigungen hinaus, doch bis dahin wird mit dem Leben der Menschen gepokert, erklärt Michel: „Wenn Geflüchtete in ihren Unterkünften Homophobie ausgesetzt sind und ihnen was passiert, dann würden sie natürlich schon in andere Unterkünfte kommen. Solange ihnen nichts passiert, müssen sie dort bleiben.“

„Wenn in der Unterkunft Leute sind, die es nicht hören möchten, dass du schwul bist, fangen manche an dich zu beleidigen. Manche teilen nicht mal ihr Essen oder andere Sachen mit einem.“

Ein eigenes Zuhause wäre für Moses die Lösung und würde ihm endlich das Gefühl einer neuen Heimat geben. Momentan steht Moses ein ehrenamtlicher Mentor zur Seite, der ihn bei der Wohnungssuche unterstützt. Die Eigeninitiative der ehrenamtlichen Mentoren ist so weitreichend, dass sie sogar Wohnungen anmieten und diese, mit Einverständnis der Vermieter wiederum an die Geflüchteten untervermieten, „weil wir als Deutsche überhaupt eine Chance haben, eine Wohnung zu bekommen“, sagt Michel.

Für Moses steht fest, er möchte in Deutschland richtig ankommen und mit seinem eigenen verdienten Geld seine Miete selbst bezahlen. Er ist zuversichtlich und plant bereits seine zukünftige Wohnsituation mit seinem Partner zusammen: „Wenn wir Geld haben, dann können wir ein Haus zusammen mieten“, sagt Moses „Beziehungsweise eine Wohnung, in Uganda ist es anders – da ist ein Haus billiger als eine Wohnung.“ fügt er lachend hinzu.

Text: Leonie Hudelmaier
Fotos: Janina Laszlo