Home

DE

Mohammed
عائلة / Eayila / Familie

This is Mohammed’s story. A story of oppression, of suffering and desperation. But it’s also the story of Mohammed’s family, who could never understand him but who made him who he is today.

CHAPTER 1: Leyla*
Leyla is afraid for her son. She has know for a long time that Mohammed is different, different from his eleven siblings. But he cannot surpress it any longer. Now her 14 year old son sits in front of her in the living room and says: „Mama, I am gay“. Leyla starts to cry. Two hours later she is still crying. „You must keep that secret,“ she says to him. „Maybe we can fix it.“ It is a big step for Mohammed to tell Leyla about his sexual orientation. He has known for a long time and doesn’t want to have to pretend anymore. His mother says, „They will treat you like a criminal.“

The family lives in Al Jahra, a city in Kuwait, not far from the capital Kuwait City. In Kuwait homosexual behaviour is forbidden. Whoever is caught, goes to prison for a long time. LGBT* - people are outcasts there, who can only practise their sexuality in hiding.

„My mother is my life. I have fought for her. She never quite understood me and she never completely supported me, but she is the only one in my family who has supported me the most. I always had a close relationship to her. We are like friends and much more.“

The real problems began when Mohammed told his father his secret one day. The father is angry, he beats him and locks him in - for the next four years Mohammed may only be at home and at school. „He was always a father, but from this day on he became a monster, he became someone else,“ said Mohammed.

CHAPTER 2: Sara*
Sara never had a close relationship to her brother Mohammed. She is the fourth oldest child, he is the tenth. When Mohammed is 18 years old, he moves from Kuwait to Marburg to study medicine. For Sara he is a normal student. One who has ambitious goals. She doesn’t realise how much the stay in Germany will influence him. For years Mohammed thought he was sick, abnormal, the only man who loved men. His father had talked him into this, and his mother too. They are the only people who knew about his sexual orientation. In Germany Mohammed suddenly finds people who are like him. He feels that he is not the only man in the world who loves men. Through Apps, Mohammed begins to meet other men. He is still afraid of his family but finally he learns to understand and accept himself.

But he makes a mistake. A friend from Greece, who he meet through an App in Marburg posted something on Facebook about the life of LGBT* people. He tagged Mohammed. The post appeared on Mohammed’s chronik, visible to all his friends. Also his sister Sara. She sees the post and tells her father about it.

„Sara had her doctorate and her master in English literature. She is a very strict person and conveys this also to her students. That one must always stick to the rules. I am not angry with her for telling my father about the post. She didn’t know that I am gay. If I could turn the clock back I would like to have told her myself. Because if I had told my sister earlier about my sexual orientation, she would have understood my situation.“

The father is angry. What a scandal, that Mohammed has brought on his family and his name. In public. Mohammed should come home immediately. His residency status must be investigated, his father tells him. Mohammed is suspicious, he had checked his residency just recently. But his father didn’t accept any argument and booked his son a plane ticket to Kuwait.

CHAPTER 3: Ali*
After several hours flying and a stop-off in Dubai, Mohammed landed in Kuwait. It is 11pm and no-one is there to pick him up. After half an hour Ali, Mohammed’s father appears. Mohammed remembers exactly that he wore a black suit as usual. Ali didn’t greet him. Mohammed should come to the car. First of all he asked Mohammed for his passport, put it in his jacket pocket and drove off.

When they got home, Mohammed knows right away what is going on. His father and his oldest brother mistreat him, over and over they attack him. Then they lock him in his room. „Everything was destroyed. My whole life. I was so desperate,“ said Mohammed. He tried to take his life in the bathroom with cleaning liquid. His family find him and call the ambulance. Mohammed is brought to the hospital.

After four days he is feeling better, but he is not allowed to go back home. His family send him to a psychiatric clinic. They have told the police about his „sickness“ that he is gay. His father, his mother and his eldest brother signed the admission. They wanted to protect the name of the family. Mohammed had to stay in the clinic for almost two years. There they gave him tablets and they wanted to cure him from his „sickness“ with therapy. He received visits only from his mother Leyla. She wants to get him out but his father won’t allow it.

After almost two years Mohammed leaves the clinic. He assured the hospital staff that he was now „cured“ and is now heterosexual. His father is weak, he has cancer and allows Mohammed to leave the clinic.

When Mohammed is free again, his father calls him to him. Ali is very sick, he will soon die. Only Leyla is in the room with them when he talks to Mohammed.

„He begged me to forgive him. To forgive him for what he had done to me over the years. He said he tried to be a good father but he was not. I could hardly say anything. I cried. I only told him that I didn’t know if I could forgive him. Then I ran away.“

CHAPTER 4: Tarek*
When the father dies, it is Tarek’s job to keep the family together. He is the eldest of the twelve brothers and sisters. Tarek watches Mohammed carfeully, he doesn’t let him out of his sight. But Mohammed behaves unobtrusive. He studies business in Kuwait and begins to work parallel. Soon he moves into his own apartment. What Tarek doesn’t know: Mohammed continues to practise his homosexuality. Through an App he meets his first friend, a Syrian, who lives in Holland. They meet often and travel several times to Spain for the weekend.

Tarek continues to distrust Mohammed. He threatens him: „If you don’t get married and solve this whole problem, we will send you back into the clinic.“ Mohammed is afraid but he doesn’t know how to get out of the situation. Until it escalates.

Tarek and Leyla have arranged a wedding for Mohammed. He should marry his cousin. But that is not what Mohammed will at all.
He confesses to his cousin that he is gay and can’t marry her. „I didn’t want to be one of those men who are gay but still marry a woman.“ says Mohammed. „My cousin should marry another man so that she can be happy.“ He doesn’t want to pretend to be hetero his whole life.

Tarek cannot accept this. He is afraid of a scandal and calls the police. He tells the officials that Mohammed is sick and must go back into the clinic. But it was to be different.

„Tarek is so clever. My parents have always said he is a clever boy. Tarek has built up his life himself. When he has something in mind, then he does it. But he is also very angry. He and my father had a bad relationship and always fought.“

The police arrested Mohammed. They searched his apartment and his Smartphone and found photos of Mohammed and his friend. They find Apps with which Mohammed met other homosexual men and read his texts in social-network.

CHAPTER 5: Mohammed
Mohammed knows that his only option is to flee. Otherwise he has a long prison sentence ahead of him. He calls a good friend who he knows from the fitness studio. The friend works for the friend helps him to flee out of the prison and Mohammed lives with him for two weeks. Until finally, one night in the summer of 2018, he takes a flight to Malaga, Spain. From there he flies to Munich. Mohammed wants to live in freedom at last and not have to hide himself anymore.

In the meantime, he lives in Augsburg and wants to start his business degree as soon as possible.
For the next three years he is „tolerated“ in Germany. Of his family, he only still has contact with his mother. Once in a while they telephone each other. Leyla is happy for her son and is proud that he goes his own way.

„I don’t hate my family. Even if they hurt me, they are still my family. There are certain factors in Kuwait, such as religion, culture and laws. That is why my family behaves as they do. They simply don’t know better. But this impression of homosexuality must change. I want to make a contribution so that it changes.“

Text: Antonia Franz
Photos: Anne Puhlmann

Home

Mohammed B
عائلة / Eayila / Familie

Das ist Mohammed B. Geschichte. Eine Geschichte von Unterdrückung, von Leid und Verzweiflung. Aber es ist auch die Geschichte von Mohammeds Familie, die ihn nie verstehen konnte und ihn trotzdem zu dem gemacht hat, der er jetzt ist.

KAPITEL 1: Leyla*
Leyla hat Angst um ihren Sohn. Sie weiß schon lange, dass Mohammed anders ist, anders als seine elf Geschwister. Aber jetzt kann sie es nicht länger verdrängen. Jetzt sitzt er vor ihr im Wohnzimmer, ihr 14-jähriger Sohn und sagt zu ihr: „Mama, ich bin schwul.“ Leyla beginnt zu weinen. Auch zwei Stunden später weint sie noch. „Du musst das geheim halten“, sagt sie zu ihm. „Vielleicht können wir es in Ordnung bringen.“ Dass er Leyla von seiner sexuellen Orientierung erzählt, ist für Mohammed ein großer Schritt. Er weiß es schon lange, will sich jetzt endlich nicht mehr verstellen müssen. Endlich die Wahrheit sagen. Seine Mutter sagt: „Sie werden dich wie einen Kriminellen behandeln.“

Die Familie lebt in Al Jahra, einer Stadt in Kuwait, nicht weit von der Hauptstadt Kuwait City. In Kuwait sind homosexuelle Handlungen verboten. Wer erwischt wird, kommt für lange Zeit ins Gefängnis. LGBT*-Menschen sind dort Aussätzige, die nur versteckt ihre Sexualität ausleben können.

„Meine Mutter ist für mich mein Leben. Für sie habe ich gekämpft. Sie hat mich nie ganz verstanden und sie hat mich nie komplett unterstützt, aber sie ist immer noch die eine aus meiner Familie, die mich am meisten unterstützt hat. Ich hatte immer eine enge Beziehung zu ihr. Wir sind wie Freunde und noch viel mehr.“

Die wirklichen Probleme fangen an, als Mohammed sein Geheimnis einige Tage später seinem Vater anvertraut. Der Vater ist wütend, er schlägt ihn und sperrt ihn ein - für die nächsten vier Jahre darf Mohammed nur zu Hause und in der Schule sein. „Er war immer ein Vater gewesen. Aber von diesem Tag an wurde er zum Monster, er wurde zu jemand anderem“, sagt Mohammed.

KAPITEL 2: Sara*
Sara hatte nie ein enges Verhältnis zu ihrem Bruder Mohammed. Sie ist das viertälteste Kind, er das zehnte. Als Mohammed 18 Jahre alt ist, zieht er von Kuwait nach Marburg, um dort Medizin zu studieren. Für Sara ist er ein ganz normaler Student. Einer, der ehrgeizig seine Ziele verfolgt. Sie ahnt nicht, wie sehr die Zeit in Deutschland ihn prägen wird. Jahrelang hat Mohammed gedacht, er sei krank, unnormal, der einzige Mann, der Männer liebt. Eingeredet hat ihm das vor allem sein Vater, aber auch seine Mutter. Sie sind die einzigen beiden Menschen, die damals schon von seiner sexuellen Orientierung wissen. In Deutschland findet Mohammed plötzlich Menschen, die wie er sind. Er spürt, dass er nicht der einzige Mann auf der Welt ist, der Männer liebt. Mohammed fängt an über Apps andere Männer kennenzulernen. Er hat immer noch Angst vor seiner Familie, aber endlich lernt er sich selbst zu verstehen und zu akzeptieren.

Doch es unterläuft ihm ein Fehler. Ein Freund aus Griechenland, den er in Marburg über eine App kennengelernt hat, postet auf Facebook etwas über das Leben von LGBT*-Menschen. Er taggt Mohammed. Der Post erscheint auf Mohammeds Chronik, sichtbar für all seine Freunde. Also auch für seine Schwester Sara. Sie sieht den Post und erzählt ihrem Vater davon.

„Sara hat ihren Doktor und ihren Master in Englischer Literatur gemacht. Sie ist eine sehr strikte Person und das vermittelt sie auch ihren Studenten. Dass man sich immer an die Regeln halten muss. Ich bin nicht wütend auf sie, dass sie meinem Vater von dem Post erzählt hat. Sie wusste einfach nicht, dass ich schwul bin. Wenn ich die Zeit zurückdrehen könnte, dann hätte ich es ihr gerne selbst erzählt. Dann hätte ich meinen Schwestern viel früher von meiner sexuellen Orientierung erzählt, sie hätten meine Situation verstanden.“

Der Vater ist wütend. Was für ein Skandal, den Mohammed da über seine Familie, seinen Namen bringen könnte. In aller Öffentlichkeit. Mohammed soll sofort nach Hause kommen. Sein Aufenthaltsstatus müsse geprüft werden, sagt der Vater zu ihm. Mohammed ist misstrauisch, er hat seinen Aufenthalt vor kurzem erst geprüft. Doch sein Vater duldet keine Widerrede und bucht seinem Sohn ein Flugticket nach Kuwait.

KAPITEL 3: Ali*
Nach einigen Stunden Flug und einem Zwischenstopp in Dubai landet Mohammed in Kuwait. Es ist 23 Uhr und keiner ist da um ihn abzuholen. Nach einer halben Stunde taucht Ali auf, Mohammeds Vater. Mohammed erinnert sich noch genau, dass er einen schwarzen Anzug trug, wie so oft. Ali begrü.t ihn nicht, Mohammed soll mit zum Auto kommen. Als Erstes fragt er Mohammed nach seinem Reisepass, er steckt ihn in die Tasche von seinem Jackett und fährt los.

Als sie Zuhause ankommen, weiß Mohammed schlagartig was los ist. Sein Vater und sein ältester Bruder misshandeln ihn, immer und immer wieder greifen sie ihn an. Dann sperren sie ihn in sein Zimmer. „Alles war zerstört. Mein ganzes Leben. Ich war so verzweifelt“, sagt Mohammed. Er versucht sich im Badezimmer mit Reinigungsmittel das Leben zu nehmen. Seine Familie findet ihn, sie rufen den Rettungswagen. Mohammed wird ins Krankenhaus gebracht.

Nach vier Tagen geht es ihm besser, aber er darf nicht wieder nach Hause gehen. Seine Familie weist ihn in eine psychiatrische Klinik ein. Sie haben der Polizei von seiner „Krankheit“ erzählt, davon, dass er schwul ist. Sein Vater, seine Mutter und sein ältester Bruder unterschreiben die Einweisung. Sie wollen den Namen der Familie schützen. Fast zwei Jahre muss Mohammed in der Klinik bleiben. Dort geben sie ihm Tabletten, sie wollen ihn mit Gesprächen von seiner „Krankheit“ heilen. Besuch bekommt er nur von seiner Mutter Leyla. Sie will ihn dort rausholen, doch sein Vater lässt das nicht zu.

Nach knapp zwei Jahren verlässt Mohammed die Klinik. Er hat den Mitarbeitern der Klinik versichert, dass er nun „geheilt“ sei, er sei jetzt heterosexuell. Sein Vater ist schwach, er hat Krebs und lässt zu, dass Mohammed die psychiatrische Klinik verlässt.

Als Mohammed wieder in Freiheit ist, ruft sein Vater ihn zu sich. Ali ist schwer krank, er wird bald sterben. Nur Leyla ist noch mit im Raum, als ihr Mann mit Mohammed redet.

„Er hat mich darum gebeten, ihm zu verzeihen. Ihm zu verzeihen, was er mir angetan hat all die Jahre. Er sagte, er hat versucht ein guter Vater für mich zu sein, aber er war es nicht. Ich konnte kaum etwas sagen. Ich habe geweint. Ich habe nur zu ihm gesagt, dass ich nicht weiß, ob ich ihm vergeben kann. Dann bin ich weggelaufen.“

KAPITEL 4: Tarek*
Als der Vater stirbt, ist es Tareks Aufgabe die Familie zusammenzuhalten. Er ist der Älteste der zwölf Geschwister. Tarek beobachtet Mohammed genau, er lässt ihn nicht aus den Augen. Doch Mohammed verhält sich unauffällig. Er studiert BWL in Kuwait und fängt parallel an zu arbeiten. Bald zieht er in ein eigenes Apartment. Was Tarek nicht weiß: Mohammed lebt seine Homosexualität weiter aus. Durch eine App lernt er seinen ersten Freund kennen, einen Syrer, der in den Niederlanden wohnt. Sie verabreden sich oft und reisen über das Wochenende mehrmals nach Spanien.

Tarek misstraut Mohammed auch weiterhin. Er droht ihm: „Wenn du nicht heiratest und dieses ganze Problem löst, dann schicken wir dich zurück in die Klinik.“ Mohammed hat Angst, aber er weiß nicht, wie er der Situation entkommen kann. Bis sie dann eskaliert.

Tarek und Leyla haben eine Hochzeit für Mohammed arrangiert. Er soll seine Cousine heiraten. Doch das ist ganz und gar nicht das, was Mohammed will.

Er beichtet seiner Cousine, dass er schwul ist und sie nicht heiraten kann. „Ich wollte nicht einer dieser Männer sein, die schwul sind und trotzdem eine Frau heiraten“, sagt Mohammed. „Meine Cousine sollte einen anderen Mann heiraten, damit sie glücklich wird.“ Er will nicht sein ganzes Leben lang so tun, als wäre er hetero.

Tarek kann das nicht akzeptieren. Er fürchtet einen Skandal und ruft die Polizei. Er erzählt den Beamten, dass Mohammed krank sei und wieder zurück in die Klinik müsse. Doch es kommt anders.

„Tarek ist so clever. Meine Eltern haben immer gesagt, er ist der clevere Junge. Tarek hat sich sein Leben selbst aufgebaut. Wenn er sich etwas in den Kopf setzt, dann tut er es auch. Aber er ist auch sehr zornig. Mein Vater und er hatten ein schlechtes Verhältnis, sie haben immer nur gestritten.“

Die Polizisten verhaften Mohammed. Sie durchsuchen seine Wohnung und sein Smartphone – und finden Fotos von Mohammed und seinem Freund. Sie finden die Apps, mit denen Mohammed andere homosexuelle Männer kennenlernt und lesen seine Beiträge in sozialen Netzwerken.

KAPITEL 5: Mohammed
Mohammed weiß, dass seine einzige Option jetzt noch die Flucht ist. Andernfalls steht ihm eine lange Haftstrafe bevor. Er ruft einen guten Freund an, den er aus dem Fitnessstudio kennt. Der Freund arbeitet bei der Regierung, hat Kontakte. Mohammed zahlt ihm viel Geld. Der Freund hilft ihm aus dem Gefängnis zu fliehen, Mohammed wohnt für zwei Wochen bei ihm. Bis er schließlich, in einer Nacht im Sommer 2018, in ein Flugzeug nach Malaga, Spanien steigt. Von dort aus fliegt er weiter nach München. Mohammed möchte endlich in Freiheit leben, sich nicht mehr verstecken müssen.

Inzwischen wohnt er in Augsburg, möchte seinen Master in BWL so schnell wie möglich beginnen. Für die nächsten drei Jahre ist er in Deutschland geduldet. Aus seiner Familie hat er nur noch mit seiner Mutter Leyla Kontakt. Ab und zu telefonieren sie. Leyla freut sich für ihren Sohn und ist stolz darauf, dass er seinen Weg geht.

„Ich hasse meine Familie nicht. Auch wenn sie mich verletzt haben, sie sind immer noch meine Familie. Es gibt bestimmte Faktoren in Kuwait, wie Religion, Kultur und Gesetze. Deshalb handeln sie so, wie sie es tun. Sie wissen es einfach nicht besser. Aber diese Sicht auf Homosexualität muss sich ändern. Ich will etwas dazu beitragen, dass sie sich ändert.“

Text: Antonia Franz
Fotos: Anne Puhlmann